Cities to apply for Military Airport Program funds

The cities of St. Robert and Waynesville are hoping to get up to $3.4 million in federal funding for improvements at the local airport.
The St. Robert Board of Alderman approved an ordinance at its regular meeting Monday to execute an agreement between the two cities and an engineering firm to start moving forward with the application.
St. Robert City Attorney Kevin Hillman said funds from the Military Airport Program have helped in the past, and, if awarded, would allow the construction of an additional hangar at the Waynesville-St. Robert Regional Airport at Forney Field.
Hillman said the hangar would house the two permanent planes of Cape Air.
Currently, Hillman said, the planes are being temporarily housed in U.S.?Army hangars.
Hillman said the funds would also allow for an additional fueling center.
Hillman said the airport at Forney Field is one of nine eligible airports for the funds.
If awarded, Hillman said the cities would need to pay a combined total of $1,400, or $700 each, for the project.
The board also approved an ordinance accepting a bid from Bales Construction for the Fort Leonard Wood Primary Care Clinic.
St. Robert City Administrator Alan Clark said the clinic has been in the works for about one year.
“It’s been a long time coming,”?said Mayor George Sanders.
Clark said the bid from Bales Construction was the lowest of four bids received, coming in at $808,000.
Clark said the board would be presented with another ordinance to execute the agreement between the city and Bales Construction at the Jan. 3 meeting. After that is approved, Clark said he would send out the notice to proceed with the project.
Clark said once the notice has been received, the project should take about 90 days to complete.
In other business, the board approved a liquor license for Studio 25, an adult-only lounge located at 357 Missouri Highway Z.
Ward 2 Alderwoman Sylvia ‘Butchie’ Newkirk was sworn in to replace her husband, Gene Newkirk, who stepped down to begin as Pulaski County presiding commissioner in January.