During a special Waynesville R-VI School Board meeting on Monday, Secretary Andy Anderson administered the Oath of Office to Butch O'Riley and incumbent Dorsey Newcomb, who were elected to the board earlier this month.
Officers for the Waynesville R-VI Board of Education were elected on April 8. They are Dr. LeRoy Fulmer, president; Dorsey Newcomb, vice president; Andy Anderson, secretary; and Nathan Purdome, treasurer.
Dr. Judene Blackburn, superintendent of Waynesville schools, thanked President Lori Laughlin for her 12 years of service on the Waynesville R-VI Board of Education. Laughlin did not run in this year's school board election.
Blackburn recognized the district's numerous achievements – from outstanding accreditation to academic achievements to major construction projects – during her tenure and leadership on the board.