The annual meeting of Region 7 of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association and Public School Personnel met April 26, 2013 at 9:00 AM at the United Church of Christ Fellowship Hall in California, Missouri.

Upon arrival attendees were greeted with the beautiful stylings of Phil Lewis at the piano, and were treated to a lovely continental breakfast as they registered. They were also served a delicious catered meal at the noon hour assisted by the members of the Moniteau Unit.

Georgia White, Region 7 Vice-President, of Richland, called the meeting to order and presided on the day’s activities. Present for the day included the Mayor of California, Norris Gerhart, who welcomed everyone to his city, and praised teachers for the work that they do in the lives of children. David Jungmeyer, President of the Moniteau County Unit, hosts for the day, also welcomed the group on behalf of his unit, and invited them to make a day of it and visit some of the city’s historic and well-known sites. The pastor of the church, Dr. Andrew Lovins, delivered the opening prayer.

Region 7 includes a large area of local units encompassing the counties of Camden, Cole, Crawford, Dent, Gasconade, Maries, Miller, Moniteau, Morgan, Osage, Phelps, and Pulaski Counties extending from the Jefferson City area through the Hermann, Missouri area and representing those retirees from school districts within those areas.

Guests speakers for the day included: MRTA President, Mark Hargens; Immediate Past President, Veronica Hambacker, Ron Marsch, MRTA Treasurer, 2012 Region 7 Distinguished Retiree and State Retirement Education Chair, Larry Beal, Maria Walden, Director of Legislation and Policy for the Public School Retirement Systems of Missouri; Missouri Retired Teacher Foundation President, Walt Cochran, MRTA Director, Jim Kreider, Don Pittrich, Chair of the State Membership Committee, and Tom Wales of Forrest T. Jones.

The group also heard reports from regional committees concerning membership, legislation, community service, informative and protective services, and retirement education. In addition, each local unit president gave a report on their unit’s activities, service projects, and significant speakers for the year.

The 2014 meeting for Region 7 MRTA was set for April 25, 2014 with the Morgan County Unit hosting.

Region 7 of MRTA is proud to have had 72 members in attendance representing the local units of the region. Together those members attending collected $1000 in donations for the Missouri Retired Teachers Foundation for classroom grants to be awarded o teachers currently in the field.

Local attendees from the Pulaski County Area Retired School Personnel Unit shown in the picture are: Seated, left to right: Georgia White (MRTA Region 7 Vice-President), Linda Volmert (Pulaski County Area Retired School Personnel President), Gloria Baun. Standing, left to right, Myra Dingman (Region 7 Community Service Chair), Wayne Denton, Carolyn Denton (PCARSP Program Chair), Martin White, Debbie Anderson, Marilyn Odle (PCARSP Historian), Peggy Grosvenor (PCARSP Treasurer), and Kitty McKelvey (PCARSP Community Service Chair).

The check in the picture indicates the amount of volunteer hours donated to various projects during the year that retired school personnel have completed in the last year in the name of the Missouri Retired Teachers Association. times the prevailing wage per hour of that hour. Missouri teachers have donated more than 477,385 hours, for a total of $10,402,219.00 if money were being paid to these workers. In addition, 32,337 items of food as well as $229,757 in monetary donations for Missouri food pantries were donated.

Following the meeting guests were able to visit local landmarks such as the Finke Theatre (a restored 1880s Opera House), the Moniteau County Historical Museum, and the Burgers Smokehouse Visitor’s Center and Retail Shop.

All those from Region 7 MRTA attending the meeting would like to thank Moniteau County Unit for being such wonderful hosts for the event.