WASHINGTON – Missouri Senators Claire McCaskill and Roy Blunt sent a letter to President Obama today in order to support a disaster designation for 22 Missouri counties that were affected by flooding and flash flooding earlier this month.

McCaskill and Blunt's bipartisan letter follows a formal request from Governor Jay Nixon earlier this week.

After joint preliminary damage assessments conducted by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, the Small Business Administration and state and local agencies, the Governor has specifically requested both Public Assistance and Individual Assistance for the counties of Barry, Camden, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Taney, Texas and Webster. Additionally, he is seeking Public Assistance for the counties of Cedar, Dade, Shannon and Wright and Individual Assistance for the counties of Dent, Gasconade, Morgan and Polk.

Individual assistance means that eligible individuals and households can seek federal assistance for uninsured losses from severe weather and flooding; public assistance allows local governments to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding.

"In light of the serious impact of this event on lives and property in the areas that has occurred, it is our sincere hope that you will grant Governor Nixon's request in a prompt manner, to help in the recovery of residents and communities affected by this disaster. Along with our fellow Missourians, we eagerly await your decision on this request for assistance," their letter reads.

McCaskill and Blunt had previously worked together to request federal resources in the aftermath of last summer's historic droughts, as well as in the aftermath of the devastating Joplin tornado in 2011.