18 Missouri counties are now eligible for federal assistance for response and recovery costs

Gov. Jay Nixon Friday evening announced that President Barack Obama has approved Nixon's request for a major disaster declaration for Missouri as a result of the severe storms that generated flooding and flash flooding throughout much of the southern portion of the state from Aug. 2 to Aug. 14.

The federal government has approved public assistance for 18 Missouri counties, which allows local governments and nonprofit agencies to seek assistance for response and recovery expenses associated with the severe weather and flooding.

The counties included in the federal disaster declaration are: Barry, Camden, Cedar, Dade, Dallas, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Pulaski, Shannon, Taney, Texas, Webster and Wright.

"This strong system of widespread and deadly flooding caused an estimated $18 million in emergency response costs and damage to roads, low water crossings and other infrastructure," Gov. Nixon said. "This declaration will help these communities recover and rebuild."

The federal government said the Governor's Aug. 27 request seeking individual assistance for residents in Barry, Camden, Dallas, Dent, Gasconade, Laclede, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Morgan, Osage, Ozark, Phelps, Polk, Pulaski, Taney, Texas and Webster counties is under review.

Gov. Nixon declared a state of emergency in Missouri on Aug. 6, in response to the continuing flooding hazards, and on Aug. 7 ordered the deployment of Missouri National Guard Citizen-Soldiers and Airmen to assist local authorities in protecting lives and property.

The Governor's Aug. 6 order activated the State Emergency Operation Center and enabled the state to mobilize its resources, including the State Emergency Management Agency (SEMA) to assist local authorities.