The Waynesville High School football team was represented on the Missouri Football Coaches Association's (MFCA) 2013 Class 5 All-State Team by a pair of senior linemen, it was announced on Friday.

The Waynesville High School football team was represented on the Missouri Football Coaches Association's (MFCA) 2013 Class 5 All-State Team by a pair of senior linemen, it was announced on Friday.
Named to the MFCA Class 5 All-State Third-Team for the Waynesville Tigers were offensive lineman Jace Hale and defensive lineman Jacob Semple.
The duo helped spark a second-half surge by the Tigers, who won four of their final six games to advance to the Missouri Class 5 District 4 championship game and finish with a 5-7 overall record.
"You look at that list - from top to bottom - and Class 5 had some tremendous football players," said Waynesville head coach Rick Vernon. "So being voted to the all-state third team is quite an honor."
Hale (5-11, 265) was a three-year starter on the Tiger offensive line. This season he helped the Tigers total nearly 4,300 offensive yards.
"Each year with more experience he has gotten better and better," Vernon said of Hale. "This year he made all of our offensive line calls. A lot of our offense came right over him."
Hale figures to play football at the collegiate level, although he is still looking for the right fit.
"He's looking," Vernon said. "There are a lot of different schools interested; they really like what he does."
Semple (6-3, 275) will be competing in college - just not in football.
Last month Semple signed a letter of intent to join the Mizzou wrestling squad. He is currently the top-ranked heavyweight in Missouri high school wrestling and ranks No. 15 nationally by
Last season Semple finished third in the 2013 Missouri Class 4 Wrestling State Championships. He currently has a 99-19 career record for the Tigers, who rank No. 8 in the Missouri Class 4 preseason state poll.
On the football field this past fall Semple recorded 41 solo tackles and 22 assists for 63 total.
"He did a great job on the defensive line," Vernon said. "He controlled the gaps he was supposed to and forced teams to scheme around him.
"He pretty well stayed in his position and with his quickness and strength very few people tried to run at him."
Other Ozark Conference players named to the Class 5 All-State Team included senior linebacker John Fuchs from Springfield Kickapoo and senior defensive back Maurice Downey of Springfield Parkview on the first team; Camdenton senior receiver Kullen Carlock; Lebanon senior offensive lineman Jacob Winterrowd; Rolla senior defensive lineman Jacob Banholzer, and Lebanon senior defensive end Johnny Malone on the second team, and Kickapoo senior quarterback Anthony Cooper; Parkview junior receiver Connor Ratcliff; Kickapoo senior receiver Jay Green; Kickapoo senior tight end Taylor Simmons; Camdenton junior offensive lineman C.J. Santon; Camdenton junior defensive lineman Alex Wilsman, and Camdenton senior linebacker Shayne Cook on the third team.
Missouri Class 5 state champion Lee's Summit West swept the offensive player, defensive player and coach of the year awards.
Lee's Summit West's senior receiver Monte Harrison was voted Class 5 Offensive Player of the Year while senior defensive back Logan Cheadle was named Defensive Player of the Year and head coach Royce Boehm Coach of the Year.

Here is the Missouri Football Coaches Association's 2013 Class 5 All-State Team:
First Team
Quarterback: Thomas Ganaden, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Running Backs: Brock Broughton, sr., Kearney; Augie Brooks, sr., Parkway Central; Markel Smith, sr., Vianney.
Receivers: Monte Harrison, sr., Lee's Summit West; Cam Hilton, jr., Webster Groves.
Tight End: Antonio Weston, sr., Kirkwood.
All-Purpose: Ezra Vaoifi, sr., Fort Osage.
Linemen: Kevin Pendleton, sr., Lee's Summit West; Justin Summers, sr., Vianney; Evan Martin, sr., Lee's Summit West; Tanner Owen, jr., Kearney; Jordan Turner, sr., Willard.
Down Linemen: Forrest Merrill, jr., Willard; Khalen Saunders, sr., Parkway Central; Bailey Sutko, sr., Staley.
Ends: Jonathon Bonner, sr., Parkway Central; Zach Rassmussen, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Linebackers: Blake Goddard, sr., Kirkwood; Max Filbeck, sr., Kearney; Aaron Mends, sr., Winnetonka; John Fuchs, sr., Springfield Kickapoo.
Backs: Logan Cheadle, sr., Lee's Summit West; Johnny Naughton, sr., Parkway Central; Eric Phillips, sr., Kirkwood; Maurice Downey, sr., Springfield Parkview.
Special Teams
Punter: Sam Frelich, sr., Chaminade.
Kicker: Tanner Martin, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Returner: Jake Hasman, jr., Kearney.

Second Team
Quarterback: Shane Barrett, jr., Fort Zumwalt East.
Running Backs: Kyle Summers, sr., Washington; Alec Murphy, jr., Nixa; Ryan Williams, jr., Lee's Summit West.
Receivers: Kullen Carlock, sr., Camdenton; Nick Griffity, sr., Park Hill South.
Tight End: Jake Drysdale, sr., Fox.
All-Purpose: Brenner Clemons, jr., Lee's Summit West.
Linemen: Dalton Miller, sr., Fort Osage; Brantley Lohkamp, sr., Parkway Central; Jacob Winterrowd, sr., Lebanon; Logan Sinneman, sr., Staley; Franklin Green, sr., Fort Zumwalt East.
Down Linemen: Preston Hobeck, jr., Jackson; Xyah Ra, sr., Nixa; Jacob Banholzer, sr., Rolla.
Ends: Tauai Tuala, sr., Fort Osage; Johnny Malone, sr., Lebanon.
Linebackers: Nathan Iloilo, sr., Fort Osage; Austin Workman, sr., Lee's Summit West; Riley Herrold, sr., Ozark; D.J. Johnson, sr., Webster Groves.
Backs: Koida Ejire, sr., Fort Osage; Jackson Newman, sr., Staley; Marquise Doherty, jr., Winnetonka; Austin Dismond, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Special Teams
Punter: Zack Lezenby, sr., Parkway Central.
Kicker: Jesse Jasso, jr., Winnetonka.
Returner: Jimmy Jones, sr., Hazelwood East.

Third Team
Quarterbacks: Anthony Cooper, sr., Kickapoo; Dante Vandeven, jr., Jackson.
Running Backs: Josh Drake, jr., Raytown; Colten Proffer, sr., Jackson; Kahluna Bouchard, jr., Staley.
Receivers: Connor Ratcliff, jr., Parkview; Jay Green, sr., Kickapoo.
Tight Ends: Taylor Simmons, sr., Kickapoo; Tyree Mayfield, sr., St. Joseph Central.
All-Purpose: Austin Hinck, sr., Kearney.
Linemen: Jace Hale, sr., Waynesville; Tanner Hageman, sr., Rockwood Summit; Anthony Jackson, jr., Webster Groves; C.J. Santon, jr., Camdenton; Joe Tuimauga, jr., Park Hill.
Down Linemen: Jamehl Wilson, sr., Parkway North; Jacob Semple, sr., Waynesville; Alex Wilsman, jr., Camdenton; Dominic Saputo, sr., Fox.
Ends: Kyle Makrway, jr, Vianney; Markel Fluker, sr., Winnetonka.
Linebackers: Michael Slater, jr., Parkway Central; Austin Miller, sr., Park Hill South; Shayne Cook, sr., Camdenton; Jack Richards, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Backs: Z. Barr, sr., Willard; Bryan Robinson, sr., Park Hill South; Isaiah Daniels, sr., Branson; Justin Fitzpatrick, jr., Ft. Zumwalt North.
Special Teams
Punter: Skylar Thompson, soph., Ft. Osage.
Kicker: Logan Tyler, soph., Nixa.
Returner: Da'Quan Ervin, sr., Branson.
Offensive Player of the Year: Monte Harrison, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Defensive Player of the Year: Logan Cheadle, sr., Lee's Summit West.
Coach of the Year: Royce Boehm, Lee's Summit West.