The Laquey Hornets ended their Frisco League portion of the season. For the first time in their school's history, they won three of the divisions in the meet.

The Laquey Hornets ended their Frisco League portion of the season. For the first time in their school's history, they won three of the divisions in the meet. They ended the Championship reigns of the two year straight Dixon Lady Bulldogs in varsity, four years in a row Plato Eagle in varsity boys, and the Licking Lady WIldcats in the junior high girls division.

The Hornets are Boys and Girls Frisco League High School Champions. The Junior High girls also captured the conference title.

    The meet started with the junior high girls race. Laquey had eight girls who competed. Gracie and Maddie Coffelt led the way for the Lady Hornets by both finishing in the top 5. Gracie Coffelt won the meet with a time just over ten minutes in her race. Maddie Coffelt finished fourth overall. Aurora Rice, Makayla Atkins, and Angel Guehrer rounded out the top ten place. Tabitha Farley placed eleventh while Allison Smith rounded out the medalist with a fifteenth place finish. Tierra Smith placed twenty first.

    Junior. high girls Conference Champ Gracie Coffelt said this about her team, "As a group we can't wait to get to keep the varsity girls streak going, next year hopefully we can do what they did this year."

The High School girls ran the third race of the day. The had a full team of five runners for the first time all season. Sisters Ariana and Acecia Rice swept the top two spot in the varsity race. Lexi Cressei placed tenth and rounded out the three girls who were all conference in the race. Evelyn Rogers placed fourteenth and was the final medalist for the Lady Hornets. Hailey Miller placed sixteenth to give Laquey the important fifth score. Here strong place helped the Lady Hornets beat the Licking Lady Wildcats, Plato Lady Eagles, and the Dixon Lady Bulldogs, which had been conference champion the last two year.

    The High School Boys race was on of the most competitive races of the night. The Laquey Hornets, Licking Wildcats, and Plato Eagles all had a shot of this years Championship. Laquey came in with a plan and even though Licking and Plato had the top two runners in the meet, Laquey managed to place five runners in the top ten.

Peter Fowers and Orin Miller placed third and fourth. Clayton Bivins and Nate Waller placed seventh and eighth in the race. Logan West rounded out the final all conference runner with a tenth place finish. Nate Fowers was the final Medalist for the Hornets with a twelfth place finish. Zack Norris rounded out the top seven runners for the hornets with a sixteenth place finish. Garrett Atkins placed 29th in the race.

Senior Peter Fowers said after the race, "We have been working for this since we were 8th graders and we finally did it."

    The Laquey Hornets are in a good position to be one of the top two teams come district time next saturday. Laquey will Travel to Hermitage for their DIstrict meet. The Crocker Lions will join them in the district meet. The Top two teams in district meet will move on to the State Championship race in Jefferson City on the first Saturday in Jefferson City. The top fifteen runners will also qualify for the championship. The had several runners last year who ran in the Class 1 State Meet.